top of page

Introduction – What, Why & How



Hello UC Students


I am Naveen Goyal, UC graduate, Mechanical Engineering (2012). Some of you probably read my post on Facebook’s ISA page, where I mentioned the need to do something to help students in their job hunt. While we all know the many websites/forums/institutions out there that we can visit to learn many things related to the job hunt, I still feel something is missing, and much more needs to be done. I genuinely feel that. Now my passion, and my current job to some extent, are about two things – Problem Solving & Continuous Improvement, and that’s exactly how I see it. There is a problem, I want to do something about it, I want to continuously improve in the way I do it, because I think I must.


At a high level, I have two ways to solve this problem. I could either ask for all of your resumes, juggle them around, spend days in finding out the right fit for each of you, not give enough time to my personal and professional life, and forward it to relevant people in my company and be done with it, OR I could utilize a tool/process that I have learnt over time, and systematically follow that in order to have a more sustainable way of solving this problem, which hopefully would help the number of batches to come in the future. I plan on choosing the latter option, purely because the first one has a really low probability of success. I am in the process of putting some thoughts and plans in place, and with time I will start involving more people (especially Alumni) who are hopefully passionate about trying to solve this problem.


Now, this blog is a part of the short term effort, to help students right now. The short term effort, which is a part of the overall plan that I am following, also includes live Google hangout sessions on ~weekly basis. Through the live sessions, I’ll try to interact with the students who are looking for immediate help. Through this blog, I intend on sharing ideas and thoughts out of my own experience, through a series of posts, on all the key steps involved in the overall job hunt process. Students are welcome to post any questions or comments, and I will try to answer them as and when I get time. I will also do my best to get more alumni to help answer your questions, and contribute in any way they can.


Remember, I can only increase the probability of you getting a job by sharing things out of my experience and through other ways. You would still have to SHOW UP and DO YOUR PART. I cannot guarantee anything even if I want to. Forget about my guarantees, even after you are given an offer by some company, there is no guarantee that you would still be hired. I have been through that a couple of times. That’s the reality (read cruelty) of the world we live in today.


Last, but not the least, I hope to help as many students as possible through different channels. I sincerely do not know where this would go from here, but I am ready to take the first step.





Good luck with your Job Hunt!




Related Posts

Search by Tags
No tags yet.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
Follow Us
bottom of page